How To Prevent Apps From Posting On Your Facebook Timeline

With the introduction of the numbers of new Facebook apps that you can add onto your timeline, along with them comes the broadcasting of your online habits such as listening to music or reading of articles. While this isn't always a bad thing, it can be annoying if such updates begin to clog your news feed and that of your friends. Also, not all of us want to broadcast everything we do online and would like our reading or listening habits to be private (especially if the latter happens to be cheesy music).

If you fall into either of these categories, then you'd be glad to know that there's a way to removing these automatic updates from your profile forever, especially if you like the app and prefer not to remove it.

First of all, when you install an app, you're usually asked for permission for the app to access your basic information. However, some apps ask for further details such as the one for Aviary Image Editor shown here.

When you first select an app to install onto timeline, the majority of them will ask this question. Some will allow you the option of skipping such a section, while others will require you to include it before you proceed. If the latter applies, you can select it and later prevent the app from posting items.

Once you've installed the app, you need to go onto your privacy setting, located on the top right hand side of your page. Once in, you will see the third option 'Apps and websites' located below. When you select 'edit settings' and go into apps, you're presented with every app you've downloaded since joining Facebook.

For this task in particular, select 'edit' for the app you interested in and you will be presented with one of two options, depending on the app in question: either the option to remove app activity from your timeline, or the option to post to Facebook as you. Removing either will stop your friends from getting updates about your activity and will spend less time clogging up your news feed.

It's a good idea to check out the app section in your privacy setting every now and again as the tendency to download apps only to forget about them is quite high. This way, you can get rid of unwanted apps from months ago that still have access to your personal information, and with apps set to become a greater part of our Facebook activity, it pays to have a more stringent grasp on exactly which apps can access your profile.